Covid-19: the convocation of the UPM will be held under a strict SOP, according to the vice-chancellor | Malaysia


UPM graduates perform the classic jump after their graduation ceremony at the 38th UPM Graduation Ceremony in this file photo taken on November 1, 2014. – Photo by Choo Choy May

SERDANG, January 6 – A total of 5,695 graduates from Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) in various disciplines will receive their scrolls at the 44th graduation ceremony which will be physically held under strict standard operating procedures (SOPs).

UPM Vice-Chancellor Prof. Mohd Roslan Sulaiman said that among the SOPs that will be implemented for the duration of the six-day graduation ceremony, starting on Saturday, only 900 graduates will be allowed entry. in the main hall of Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz. Shah Arts and Cultural Center at UPM, which has a capacity of 4,000 seats.

“We have stipulated that only graduates should be allowed to enter the hall where the graduation ceremony will take place, while parents or families of students can only send and collect graduates,” he said. he said at a press conference on the graduation ceremony here today.

“For parents who have traveled far, UPM will provide them with several waiting rooms until the end of their children’s sessions. They will be able to attend the ceremony in these rooms via the live broadcast, ”he said.

Mohd Roslan said it was the first UPM graduation ceremony since the country was struck by the Covid-19 pandemic in early 2020. The convocation will involve a total of 398 recipients of the doctorate in philosophy (PhD), master’s (1,093 holders), a bachelor’s degree (3,544) and a diploma (660).

“To avoid the spread of the Covid-19 infection during the convening ceremony, UPM will only organize the ceremony in the morning in order to allow time for the disinfection work to be carried out in the evening for the next session”, did he declare.

Mohd Roslan said the Chancellor of the UfM Sultan of Selangor Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah will confer doctorates, masters and bachelor’s degrees as well as diplomas on graduates at the fifth session on January 12.

During the session, Sultan Sharafuddin will promulgate the appointment of Raja Muda de Selangor Tengku Amir Shah Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah, Professor Emeritus Datuk Dr Ir Muhamad Zohadie Bardaie and Professor Emeritus Tan Sri Dr Syed Jalaludin Syed Salim as pro UPM chancellors for a period of three years from October 18, 2021 to October 17, 2024.

Sultan Sharafuddin to award Chancellor’s Gold Medal Award to Aini Nazihah as well [email protected] (Bachelor of Science in Physics with Distinction) from the Faculty of Science; Royal Education Award (Bumiputera) to Prince Mohamad Iskandar Jamil (Bachelor of Science in Horticulture) from the Faculty of Agriculture; and the Royal Education Award (Non-Bumiputera) to Chow Heng Yee (Bachelor of Science in Human Development) from the Faculty of Human Ecology.

The pro-chancellor of the UPM, Syed Jalaludin, will present during the first session on Saturday January 8 the gold medal of the alumni at Lim Jia Yie (license in environmental management) of the Faculty of forests and the environment ; Gold Medal from the Pak Rashid Foundation to Michelle Tiong Chia Weng (Bachelor of Education – Teaching English as a Second Language), Faculty of Educational Studies; and the Putra Agribio Medal to Muhammad Ali Imran Razali (Doctor of Veterinary Medicine), Faculty of Veterinary Medicine.

Syed Jalaludin will also present the Razlan Putra Medal to Syed Mohamad Syafiq Syed Cholan (Bachelor of Science in Human Development), Faculty of Human Ecology; Shell Station Operator Entrepreneurship Award awarded to Ijlali Husna Alias ​​(Bachelor of Education in Home Science), Faculty of Pedagogical Studies; Tun Abdul Razak Prize to Chow Heng Yee (Bachelor of Science in Human Development), Faculty of Human Ecology.

He will also present the Gold Medal of the Doctor of Philosophy Malaysian Vaccines and Pharmaceuticals to Farhatun Najat Maluin (PhD Nanotechnology), Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology; Gold Medal for Masters with Thesis in Sanchez Philip Donald Cabuga (Master of Science in Agricultural Process Engineering), Faculty of Engineering; Gold Medal for BasNet Doctorate in Philosophy to Dr Nor Sa’adah Jamaluddin (Doctoral Program and Teaching), Faculty of Educational Studies, and Syed Kechik Prize to Fatimah Marwa Jaapar (Bachelor of Biochemical Sciences with Distinction), Faculty of Biotechnology and biomolecular sciences.

Mohd Roslan said that at the graduation ceremony, 11 graduates of the first master’s program in entrepreneurship received their scrolls in the first session (Saturday, January 8).

He said that among the athletes who would graduate at the convocation ceremony were hockey player Syed Syafiq Syed Cholan; Nur Fatihah Mohammad Tahir (shooting); Mohamed Farhan Hafsyam Zahid (athletics); Priyashankari Hari Sankar (karate); Muhamad Hafzan Bakri Md Roni (rugby); Dzafran Asyraf Zainuddin (rugby) and Muhammad Kamal Ishak (sepak takraw). – Bernama


About Author

Comments are closed.