Hislop College Teams Dominate Nagpur University Sepak Takraw Tournament | Nagpur News


NAGPUR: Hislop College dominated the Sepak Takraw inter-college tournament at Nagpur University which ended on Friday at the grounds of Dhanwate National College.
Out of the four finals, Hislop College excelled with three titles. The annual three-day competition was held in two categories: the regu and the double regu. The regu category is played by three players on each team while the double regu is played by two players on each team.
In the women’s final, the Institute of Science outscored Hislop College 21-10, 21-10. However, in the doubles top clash, Hislop College rebounded by beating Nagpur Sharirik Shikshan Mahavidyalaya (NSSM) 2-0.
Both games were hard-fought with Hislop College vigils winning 21-19, 21-17 to shatter NSSM hopes.
For men, both titles were pocketed by Hislop College. They beat Yashwant College, Wardha 21-19, 21-14 in the regular final.
In the final of the double regu, the same two teams also faced each other. Rounding out the sweep, Hislop College edged Yashwant College, Wardha 2-1 to clinch the crown.
Nagpur University’s Director of Physical Education and Sports, Sharad Suryawanshi, was the main guest and handed out the prizes. Sukhdev Biswas, secretary of the Maharashtra Sepak Takraw association, presided over the ceremony. Kalpana Jadhav, Madhavi Mardikar, Devendra Wankhade, Amit Kanwar, Lata Deshmukh, Manda Thengane, Amrita Agnihotri, Subhash Dadhe and Jayant Jichkar were present on the occasion.
(Women) Regular final: Institute of Science bt Hislop College 2-0 (21-10, 21-10); Play-off for third place: NSSM bt NMD Gondia 2-0 (21-8, 21-15).
Doubles final: Hislop College bt NSSM 2-0 (21-19, 21-17); Third place match: Institute of Science bt DNC ​​2-0 (21-6, 21-5).
(Men) Regu Final: Hislop College bt Yashwant College, Wardha 2-0 (21-19, 21-14); Match for third place: NSSM bt GH Raisoni College 2-0 (21-7, 21-5).
Regular Doubles Final: Hislop College bt Yashwant College, Wardha 2-1 (21-18, 13-21, 21-10); Third place play-off: NSSM bt SFS College 2-0 (21-16, 21-13).


About Author

Leave A Reply