Joes, Mahanama walk, Thomians end league without a single win – The Island


Under 19 Division I Cricket

by Reemus Fernando

St. Joseph’s and Mahanama consolidated their top positions in their respective groups at ‘A’ level while S. Thomas’, Mount Lavinia concluded a lackluster Championship leg without a single victory in the Under-19 cricket tournament of Division I which continued on Monday.

In a clash between two strong teams, including Sri Lankan Under-19 players, St. Joseph’s ended St. Anthony’s unbeaten streak as Sadeesh Jayawardena and Shevon Daniel scored half a century unbeaten for record nine wicket wins. This was after limiting visitors to 118 races.

It was the Joes’ fourth win in the tournament.

Mahanama continued his unbeaten streak with a thrilling eight-point victory over Gurukula. Mahanama secured the group champion position with one game to spare as they have four wins to their name. Their counterparts in the group have yet to register more than two wins.

The most stunning performance of the day came from Moratu Vidyalaya who beat Lumbini by three wickets. With Devapathiraja also securing a win over St. Joseph Vaz yesterday, Tier “B” Group “Y” will have a close competition with Moratu Vidyalaya, Isipatana and Devapathiraja battling for the top spot.

Meanwhile, S. Thomas had an unusual end to the league stage as they conceded their fourth defeat at the hands of San Sebastian to culminate the tournament without a single win.

Wesley, Maris Stella and St. Sylvester’s were the other teams to pick up victories in the Division I tournament on Monday.

Match results

Joes beat St. Anthony’s at Darley Road


St. Anthony

118 all out in 42.1 overs (Chamindu Wickramasinghe 28, Lahiru Abeysinghe 40, Treveen Mathew 23; Deshan Senaviratne 3/24, Mithira Thenura 3/12, Dunith Wellalage 2/11)

Saint Joseph

123 for 1 of 19.2 overs (Sadeesh Jayawardena 55n.o., Shevon Daniel 52n.o.)

Wesley beat DSS at Campbell Park



149 all out in 39.3 overs (Manura Pieris 58; Chamath Gomaz 2/33, Semila Liyanage 2/32, Linal Subasinghe 2/24)


150 for 4 in 28 overs (Sahil Dias 73, Ashan Isira 30; Senura Silva 2/25)

Mahanama defeated Gurukula at the CCC



214 all out in 48.3 overs (Anjala Bandara 23, Devindu Kekirideniya 24, Dhanaja Edirisinghe 61, Anuka Wijewardana 22; Janitha Shehan 3/55, Yuwaneth Madusanka 3/56, Poorna Kalhara 2/26)


206 all out in 49.5 overs (Neluka Heshan 60, Sithija Chamod 28, Denura Demansith 32, Mohomed Murshad 36; Duvindu Ranathunga 3/38, Inuka Karannagoda 3/13)

San Sebastian wins two wickets in Moratuwa


S. Thomas’ 237 for 8 of 50 overs (Shenadhi Bulankulama 47, Muizz Naushan 21, Romesh Mendis 30, Mahith Perera 59n.o., Gunaratnam Caniston 26; Kushan Herath 3/55, Sandeesh Fernando 2/54)

San Sebastian

238 for 8 in 48.3 overs (Ryan Dissanayake 29, Kesara Madusanka 73, Yashan Avishka 46, Sanesh Fernando 30n.o.; Gunaratnam Caniston 2/57, Charuka Peiris 3/31)

Saint Sylvester

record four wickets won at Lake View



162 all out in 42.3 overs (Mohamed Yasir 30, Sameer Majeed 42, Raaed Rizwan 23; Kavishka Imesh 3/44, Akila Wickramasinghe 3/19, Shashika Basnayake 3/39)

Saint Sylvester

163 for 6 in 32.3 overs (Malith Lakshan 21, Maleesha Silva 72, Kavishka Dilshan 43; Mohamed Humaid 2/30)

Maris Stella defeated Dharmaraja at Kurunegala


Mari Stella

190 all out in 48.3 overs (Shane Adithya 32, Sadew Rathnayaka 28, Hansaja Hiruna 38; Thisaru Wanninayaka 2/25, Sajith Rathnayaka 4/34)


163 all out in 49.5 overs (Eveen Kalhara 3/14, Malindu Malith 2/09, Sathiru Hansala 2/32)

Moratu Vidyalaya beat Lumbini in Moratuwa



148 all out in 30.5 overs (Nabeel Rajudeen 50, Sakuna Liyanage 27; Isuru Nidarshana 4/21, Vishwa Didulana 2/14, Vihanga Nimsara 2/22)

Moratu Vid.

149 for 7 in 36.3 overs (Isuru Nidarshana 40, Thushan Nimantha 25, Vihanga Nimsara 27n.o.; Malith Kavindu 2/21, Nabeel Rajudeen 3/30)

Devapathiraja defeated St. Joseph Vaz at Sooriyawewa


St. Joseph Vaz

157 all out in 49.3 overs (Chamath Fernando 47, Avishka Prabashwara 21, Janith Fernando 21; Irushka Thimira 2/23, Matheesha Saranga 2/18, Darshaka Sandeep 3/23)


159 for 6 overs in 30.2 (Pawan Sandesh 32, Jeewaka Shaheen 59, Matheesha Saranga 25n.o.; Hasitha Kushan 3/29,


About Author

Comments are closed.